Czech/Slovak Legal Institute

Czech/Slovak Legal Institute

czech slovak image

The John Marshall Law School has been active in the Czech and Slovak Republics since 1993. The law school has sister school relationships with the Faculty of Law at Masaryk University in Brno, the Prague School of Economics (VŠE), the Metropolitan University of Prague, and the Czech Supreme Court.

Each fall since 1993, John Marshall has conducted a legal study trip for American lawyers and judges to the Czech and Slovak Republics. They visit various legal and judicial institutions and present programs on American law for lawyers, judges, and law students.

Professor Seng participating in a graduation ceremony at The Metropolitan
University of Prague, one of John Marshall's sister schools, 2005.

Seng gold medal
Vera Kalvodova, Vice Dean, Masaryk University; Michael
Seng, professor, The John Marshall Law School and Petr
Fiala, Professor PHD, Rector, Masaryk Universtiy,
Professor Seng was awarded the Masaryk Gold Medal,
March 2006.

The law school has an exchange program with the Faculty of Law at Masaryk University that allows a student from Masaryk to study for one semester at John Marshall. It has exchange programs with Masaryk, VŠE, and the Metropolitan University of Prague where John Marshall students can study in the Czech Republic and Czech students can study in Chicago for one semester.

It regularly conducts legal education programs with the Czech Bar Association and each fall trains new Czech and Slovak lawyers in American law, professional and entrepreneurship responsibilities, and alternative dispute resolution in Luhacovice.

John Marshall is partnering with other Illinois and Czech Universities and public health agencies in the International Collaborative for Public Health Emergency Preparedness. The group supports efforts to increase public health emergency preparedness by educating students, faculties and practicioners in collaborative strategies to meet a public health emergency of international dimensions.

John Marshall students can also participate in a three-credit hour course for two weeks over the summer in European Community Law that is taught in Prague, Brno, and Bratislava.